Staff reports
Section: SPORTS,  Page: C6

Date: Thursday, December 18, 1997

Ken Hayner of Burnt Hills and Jon Newton of Niskayuna received top honors in Class A at the annual boys high school soccer banquet. Hayner was named Player of the Year and Newton was selected as Goalie of the Year by the Capital District Soccer Coaches. Don Snyder of Guilderland was named Coach of the Year.

Hayner was named to the All-State first team for large schools. Kevin Purcell of Guilderland was a second-team choice, while Kevin Russell of Bethlehem and John Marino of Shenendehowa were named to the third and fourth team, respectively.

In Class B, Schalmont swept honors with Tony Caschera the top player, Anthony Peters the top goalie and Chris Bailey the top coach. Caschera was a large school state honorable mention.

Nick Southworth of Maple Hill was Class C Player of the Year. Peter Anderson of Tamarac was the top goalie while Dan Gillespie of Maple Hill was the top coach.

Ryan Morrison of Northville was Player of the Year in Class D. Steve Mitchell of Hartford was Goalie of the Year while Nate Cintron of New Lebanon was Coach of the Year.

Southworth was named All-State first team for small schools. Morrison and Andrew Sayer of Lake George made the second team and Eamon Reilly of Cairo-Durham was a third-team selection.

Cliff Hedden of Scotia was given the Golden Thread Award for over 30 years of distinguished serve to soccer in the area.

The Capital District Soccer Officials presented their Sportsmanship Awards to John Bramley of Bethlehem (Class A), Gary Furman of Fonda-Fultonville (Class B), Jim Gillis of Berne-Knox (Class C) and Chris LaCoppola of St. Johnsville (Class D).

The All-Stars: CLASS A

Rob Hammond and Mirsad Ramic, Albany; Bill Jones, Amsterdam; Jake Fisher, Averill Park; Jason Seymour and Russell, Bethlehem; Hayner, Burnt Hills; Adam Daniels, CBA; Bryan Degnan and Nate Pomakoy, CCHS; Clint Smith, Colonie; Morgan Cain and Purcell, Guilderland; Mike Chen, Adam Neary and Newton, Niskayuna; Jose Leon, Schenectady; Pat Wren and Marino, Shenendehowa; Jon Getbehead, Troy. CLASS B

Pat Bryant and Mike Sengenberger, Albany Academy; Lucas Ahl, Brandon Thomas and Kevin McPhee, Ballston Spa; Joe Brennan, Bishop Gibbons; Matt Jackling, Broadalbin-Perth; Kevin Carroll, Ben Helme and Jeff Tillapaugh, Cobleskill-Richmondville; Travis Teeter, Cohoes; Jason Hillabrandt and Kevin Kremler, Gloversville; Andrew Trowbridge, Hudson; Joe Dryer and Eric Schriejeck, Ichabod Crane; Kyle Kilmartin, Johnstown; Bob Federici, LaSalle; Neil Mullarkey and Mark Foulger, Ravena; Cory Gregg, Caschera and Peters, Schalmont; Mike Delarm, Mark Mortensen and John Lockwood, Scotia. CLASS C

Al Webster, Berlin; Kris Schmitt and Tylor Stevens, Berne-Knox; Kevin Skelly and Reilly, Cairo-Durham; Evan Moppert and Kevin Preble, Cambridge; Ryan Jeune, Catskill; Shawn Olender and Zack Giftos, Chatham; Joel Denofrio, Fort Plain; Jeremy Mathias, Galway; Seth Cottrell and Jamie Williams, Hoosick Falls; Steve Moore, Hoosic Valley; Mike Bellinger, Josh Scott and Andrew Sayer, Lake George; Seth Dekorp and Southworth, Maple Hill; Matt Ozea and Joe Reynolds, Mayfield; Chris Pickett, Mechanicville; Eric Hamm and Scott Heiser, Middleburgh; Chris Fronhofer and Chad Underwood, Salem; Brian Buell and Dan Magil, Schenectady Christian; Conall Haldanc, Taconic Hills; Francis DeLucia, Eric Schriner and Anderson, Tamarac. CLASS D

Mike Tzraskos, Argyle; Dan Hopkins, Duanesburg; James Fifield, Fort Ann; Brett Manson, Germantown; Jeff Smith, Jon Wright and Mitchell, Hartford; Walter Frederick, Lucas Marone, Avi Pandey and Chadd Ryan, New Lebanon; Justin Remington, North Warren; Dave Hammons and Morrison, Northville; Sandro Gregori, Sharon Springs; Seth Waltz, Waterford.